Congratulations to Our 2017 Award Winners!

The Colorado Pharmacists Society is excited to highlight this year’s award winners:

Award for Distinguished Young Pharmacist

Lucas Smith

Pharmacists Mutual’s Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award was created in 1987 to encourage newer pharmacists to become involved in association activities and community service.  This award recognizes one pharmacist in each state for individual excellence and outstanding contributions.

Lucas has implemented a robust immunization program in his independent pharmacy, which has grown exponentially in the three seasons he has offered it thus far, now representing the primary vaccine delivery location in the town of Buena Vista. He aggressively pursued a partnership with the School to receive a constant supply of pharmacy students to deliver the diabetes and cardiovascular education and management programs that he participated in as a student, and he has established strong partnerships with all of the local providers, all who speak very highly of him. Congratulations Lucas!

Generations Rx Champions Award

  Michelle Hilaire

The Cardinal Health Generation Rx Champions Award recognizes a pharmacist who has demonstrated excellence in community-based prescription drug abuse prevention, recognizing “outstanding efforts within the pharmacy community to raise awareness of this serious public health problem.”

Michelle has been involved in the chronic pain clinic at Family Medicine Center since 2004, treating patients through interdisciplinary care and group and individual appointments. She is now working in a pilot project Suboxone clinic with 4 providers.  Michelle keeps patient care at the forefront of her mind and is genuinely caring and deeply committed to providing her patients with the best possible care. Because she takes time to notice patients as people, and not just patients, she is able to facilitate behavioral changes, even with the most difficult patients.  Congratulations Michelle!

NASPA Excellence in Innovation Award

Paul Shaw

The Excellence in Innovation Award, sponsored by Upsher-Smith Laboratories and administered by NASPA, seeks to recognize and honor a qualified member pharmacist who has demonstrated significant innovation in their respective practice, method or service directly or indirectly resulting in improved patient care and/or advancement of the profession of pharmacy.

Paul has served as both clinical pharmacy specialist and clinical pharmacy supervisor in his specialty area of Cardiology since joining Kaiser Colorado in 2009. He has a clinical practice in cardiology while supervising other clinical pharmacists in a variety of areas.  He has developed and maintained an antiarrhythmic drug monitoring service, evaluated new cardiovascular drugs for formulary consideration, evaluates drug utilization appropriateness and develops strategies to promote cost-effective prescribing.  Paul also provides drug information and educational presentations to patients, nurses, pharmacists, and physicians.  He is invested in the care of his patients along with making sure the health care professionals understand the newest guidelines and recommendations in the specialty area of cardiology.  Congratulations Paul!

CPS Pharmacist of the Year Award

Emily Zadvorny

This award is presented to a pharmacist member who has demonstrated dedication to the profession of pharmacy, contributed time and effort to various professional organizations, furthered the profession of pharmacy through community service and embodied those qualities of attitude and leadership which exemplified the profession. It should be noted that this is the highest award of the Society and should be only given to someone who has outstanding and lasting contributions to the profession that will endure for a long period of time.

Emily is a passionate advocate for the advancement of the pharmacy profession and expanding the scope of practice, as evidenced by her extensive resume and all who have worked with her. She helped to oversee the process in pursuing provider status in the state of Colorado and served as a co-chair of the Provider Status Task Force. After the legislation was passed, she continued to work closely with the State Board of Pharmacy on statewide protocols included in the law. She played an integral role in this exciting accomplishment for Colorado pharmacists and continues to assist CU in statewide protocol development and implementation.  Congratulations Emily!

CPS Student of the Year Award

Kyle Troksa

This award recognizes an outstanding pharmacy student who has shown dedication to advancing the profession of pharmacy, especially as it is practiced in Colorado. This dedication may be demonstrated through activities related to CPS, but may also include involvement in other pharmacy organizations, volunteer activities, and legislative advocacy. The award recipient will have taken on leadership roles and encouraged fellow students to advocate for the pharmacy profession.

Kyle has impressive academic achievements, work experience, professional organization involvement, and volunteer work. He is an active member of CPS, ASHP, AMCP, and ACCP and works as a pharmacy intern at the University of Colorado Hemophilia Center Pharmacy, all while maintaining a commendable 3.68 GPA.  Kyle is also passionate about advocacy work, travelling to Washington in 2016 to meet with Congress regarding provider status.  Congratulations Kyle!

CPS Technician of the Year

Nicole Wallace

This award recognizes an outstanding pharmacy technician who has shown dedication to advancing the profession of pharmacy, especially as it is practiced in Colorado. This dedication may be demonstrated through activities and involvement in pharmacy organizations, volunteer activities, and legislative advocacy. The award recipient will have taken on leadership roles and encouraged fellow technicians to advocate for the pharmacy profession.

Nicole started her career in retail pharmacy, then moved to clinical, advanced practice in chemotherapy, and now works as an instructor at Arapahoe Community College.  Nicole has also been an active member of CPS, lending her expertise to the Membership Committee and the Continuing Education Committee. This is our first year presenting the Technician of the Year Award.  Congratulations Nicole!

Champion of Pharmacy Lifetime Achievement Award

Ralph Altiere and Rodney Carter

It is CPS’s honor and privilege to present Dean Altiere and Dean Carter with the CPS Champion of Pharmacy Lifetime Achievement Award to esteem their relentless dedication to excellence in pharmacy education and advocacy for the advancement of the profession.

Dean Ralph Altiere
University of Colorado
Dean Altiere’s 35-year career is filled with numerous distinctions and local and national awards.  Dean Altiere has led the School of Pharmacy to a top 20% ranking for pharmacy schools, and a #4 ranking for research funding.  He was also a tireless supporter of the Colorado pharmacist-prescribing fill.

Dean Rodney Carter
Regis University
Dean Carter’s career has spanned the country in various teaching and administrative roles, roles at national associations, and prestigious awards, including the Weaver Medal of Excellence from Drake University College of Pharmacy — the highest honor given.  He has also been a tireless supporter of CPS and the pharmacy profession in Colorado.

Congratulations Dean Altiere and Dean Carter, and thank you for all you do!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *